DIY T-Shirt Dress

The spring and summer time is vastly approaching. I have been trying to hear up for the seasons. My daughter LOVES dresses. If she could wear dresses all day everyday she would! I think dresses not only cute but comfortable to wear. I have been busy making a couple of T-Shirt dresses.

T-Shirt dresses are super easy to make. You can adjust them to any size.

Supplies you will need:
1. T-Shirt
2. Fabric of your choice
3.Sewing Machine

Step 1
Lay your T-Shirt on the ground. Iron it lightly if needed. Determine how much you want to cut of the shirt. My daughter is a size 5t so I bought a five 5t shirt. I used my measuring tape to measure my shirt from the bottom up. I cut off 6 inches of the shirt.

Step 2
I bought half a yard of fabric. You may need more depending on the size dress you are making. You are going to measure from the top to the bottom of the fabric. I used about 10 1/2 inches in length. I used all of the fabric in width (across/from side to side).

Step 3

You should have two rectangle pieces. Sew a basting stitch across the right sides of each of  the fabric. Gather the fabric across the top while laying it on top of the shirt to match the length.

Step 4

Pin the sides on the fabric together and sew along the sides.

Step 5

Place the shirt inside of the skirt. The cut bottom of the shirt should be pinned to the gathered top of the skirt/fabric. See it together. Zig zag stitch the frayed ends to finish, and your done!

image

image

Connect
http://www.facebook.com/sewrussia

http://www.instagram.com/sewrussia

Leave a Reply

