Journey To Natural Hair

I wish that I could say that my natural hair start was one full of optimism and joy. I wish that I could tell you that I just “wanted a new look” I wish I could *Sings* tell you something good. I can only give you my reality. The reality was I was overwhelmed, I was frustrated, I was fed up, and I was sick. It was not a pretty picture. I kind of had an Angela Bassett moment. You know in the movie “Waiting to Exhale”? I just cut all of my hair in frustration. I wasn’t happy.

I wasn’t happy with my career. I wasn’t happy with who I was, and what I was allowing to happen. My family and my health were¬†suffering greatly for it. March 2015 put the icing on the cake, when my iron deficiency landed me in the hospital. It was the worst I had ever felt (even worst than child birth). I was slowly dying and I was so busy giving other things attention that I didn’t even notice it.

That admit into the hospital woke me up. I realized I had to make a change. It did not matter if anyone was mad at me. It did not matter if people wanted to leave. I could not just settle and take anything anymore. I could not allow people to disrespect me and I stay silent anymore. I could not let people do to me what they would not allow me to do to them anymore. I could no longer hold my tongue and not say how I felt and what I thought anymore.

image

I learned that I was more important than I knew. I am someone. I deserved to be cared for and to care for myself. I learned that I only have one life and none of the petty things will matter at the end of the day. I learned loyalty to self, my world, and the people in it.

So I started working on myself. Of course, I lost people, jobs, and I have cut tithes. People are not as accepting when you are completely yourself. Everyone cannot handle certain personalities. I am very outspoken, but I am respectful. I am easy to talk to, but I will not tolerate reckless behavior. I am very passionate. Anything that peaks my interest I am going to give more than 100% to it.

I love the person I have become without anyone’s approval. I am learning to create my world and the things I want. I am learning to take the right opportunity build on it. I am learning to be strong and bold as a woman that will bring other women to the top with her in her journey. What keeps me going is knowing I will be an example for others, and someone is always watching…especially my daughter.

My journey to happiness had just gotten started!

image

Leave a Reply

